Monday, June 25, 2018

I’m constantly evolving and learning

Congratulations to "Linda H." and  "Linda S." the winners in Susanne's giveaway. Please contact JUST ROMANTIC SUSPENSE to claim your prize. Thank you to all who participated!

Good morning,

It’s a pleasure to be here again. Thank you, Maureen for having me. As always, comment on this post for your chance to win one of two electronic copies of On His Watch, Book One of the Vengeance Is Mine Series.

As a writer, I’m constantly evolving and learning. Unfortunately, that doesn’t always involve forward motion. Sometimes if means stopping, stepping back, and saying, “I wish I’d added this, done that, or changed the way that happened.” Writing can be the most rewarding thing, but it can also be fraught with disappointment.

When Simon and Schuster bought my publisher, Crimson Romance, I was elated, but a year later, they closed the imprint. While they still carry many of my books, I was able to get the rights back to three of them. I faced an interesting dilemma. It wasn’t the first time I’d had a publisher do something similar, and knew I would republish the books on my own, but the question was how would I revise them? Would I simply read through and eliminate any typos that had been missed? I would need new covers, of course and Melinda De Ross, my cover artist did a fantastic job. When I saw the covers, I knew she needed terrific books to go with them. Then it hit me. All three books had a common theme—Revenge. While it was front and center in one book, it was more secondary in the others. So I decided to exploit that similarity, playing up the thriller and suspense aspects while maintaining the romance, and making it more believable. As well, I modernized to stories to fit with today’s current climate.

In the end, I had three novels, that, while similar in nature to the original, have many great new scenes, including new beginnings and new endings. I used the comments from the original book reviews to iron out the rough spots, clarify issues, and add zing to both the romance and the suspense aspects, making them more romantic thrillers, hoping to appeal to those who thrive on the suspense. If you’re a fan of crime solving shows like Criminal Minds and Castle, I think you’ll enjoy the changes. I also added additional characters and in some cases, allow you to see things from their points of view. After all, in a crime, motive is everything.

The series starts with On His Watch.

You can’t outrun the past.

On leave from the FBI, Special Agent Jason Spark is enjoying some welcome peace and quiet when he’s called on to help the local sheriff’s department check out a 911 call. Expecting a prank or misdial, he unwittingly steps into a horrifying bloodbath straight out of a Hollywood slasher movie, complete with clues scrawled on the wall.

Nikki Hart’s husband and son are killed, but she survives, badly beaten and barely clinging to life in a coma. When she awakens, she doesn’t know her name, recognize her face, or remember anything about herself and her past. Terrified, and unsure of whom to trust, she clings to the memory of the angel who comforted her in her darkest moments.

The investigation turns up a prime suspect: The Butcher, an elusive hired assassin for the Sicilian mob. As the news of Nikki’s recovery spreads, putting her in this ruthless killer’s sights again, Jason will do whatever it takes to protect the woman he’s learning to love.
Nikki’s beginning to believe Jason might be the angel who protected her in her dreams. But when she learns about the secret role he played in the worst day of her life, can she ever forgive him?

Book Two Introduces you to a truly sick mind in Fire Angel.

Everything happens for a reason.

Criminal profiler Jake McKenzie returned from Afghanistan minus a leg, determined never to let anyone get close enough to hurt him again. When his old friend asks him to help with a serial arsonist case, he jumps at the chance to prove his worth, but as the bodies pile up, he realizes he needs help. He convinces the chief to bring in a fire investigator, stunned to discover that the woman is none other than the girl who vanished from his life twenty years ago.

Alexis Michaels fled Paradise and an abusive uncle only to almost die in a fire that left her scarred not only on the outside, but on the inside, leaving her with psychic abilities. With that gift, she’s climbed to the top of her profession. Her abilities may be the only thing that can find and stop the Fire Angel, a pyromaniac turned revenge arsonist serial killer who’s slowly turning a peaceful town into Hell on Earth. The problem is, to do the job, she has to return to the one place where she swore she would never set foot again.

Faced with confusing emotions and a killer who’s made it clear he wants her to stay out of his business, Alexis must deal with the past before she can move on. But things may get too hot even for her as the Fire Angel moves toward the final act in his revenge drama.

Fire Angel is available exclusively through Amazon.

The third book in the series, In Plain Sight, includes a bonus visit from Jake and Alexis McKenzie, the main characters from Fire Angel, providing the readers with a glimpse of what’s happened in their lives. In Plain Sight will be released in early July. Watch for it.

Widowed, her dream of starring on Broadway in ashes at her feet, Misty Starr yearns for a happy, healthy, normal life for herself and her four-year-old daughter, Debbie. Settled in Pine Falls, New York, a sleepy little town filled with friendly people, she believes she’s found it and feels safe enough to sing in an amateur theater revival of Jesus Christ Superstar. She’ll do anything to keep this life even if it is built on lies, because revealing her secret is impossible. When Nick Anthony joins the cast as music director, Misty is attracted to the man who stirs up feelings she thought long dead, but can love grow on a bed of deceit?

A former concert pianist and CIA courier, Nick lives in darkness ever since the accident that killed his wife. The doctors say there’s nothing wrong with his vision, so why can’t he see? Hiding from his former life, he reluctantly agrees to help with the musical and is drawn to the young singer with the voice of an angel. When a mysterious fire destroys her home, Nick vows to keep her and her daughter safe. After one suspicious event leads to another, Nick is determined to protect them from an unknown assassin, but in order to do that, he needs to know her secrets. With his money and connections, he’ll do whatever it takes to save the woman he loves, but does she love him enough to reveal the truth?

Like OnHis Watch and Fire Angel, In Plain Sight will be available from Amazon for the introductory price of 99 cents USD. All three books will be available to read free through KU.
Thanks again for letting me visit and I hope everyone has a safe and happy summer.

Comment on this post for your chance to win one of two electronic copies of On His Watch, Book One of the Vengeance Is Mine Series.


  1. You are a new author to me but I enjoy reading romantic suspense and your books sound like stories I would really enjoy. I also like reading law enforcement books too.

    linda dot henderson70 at yahoo dot com

    1. Thank you. I hope you do get a chance to read them. I love engaging new readers.

  2. This series looks awesome and Spine Tingling...would love to win

  3. Thank you so much for having me. I love sharing my work with your followers.

  4. interesting series

  5. There are more sick minds out there than many realize. We are lucky to have those who dedicate their lives to finding them and stopping them from doing more damage. This series sounds like it will be a good exploration of the evil of criminals and those who try to stop them.


Sign up to receive our newsletter