Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Second Chance Love



Congratulations to "Trish", the winner of Gracie's giveaway. Thank you to all who participated!

What happens when you lose the one person you believed with all your heart was put on this earth just for you?  And what if it was your fault you lost them?

Could you let yourself fall in love again?


These are the questions at the centre of my debut romantic suspense, Hearts on Hold, released this week by Escape Publishing.

I remember how I cried when I first saw Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. Right then and there, Disney took my little-girl heart and twisted it as I watched the Prince fall to his knees at the sight of his One True Love, so beautiful, so dead. Of course, Disney knew better than to leave her dead: with a kiss, the Prince woke his princess and they lived Happily Ever After.
Even then, I wasn’t convinced. Magic was all very convenient, but what if that kiss hadn’t worked? Did that mean Snow White wasn’t the Prince’s One True Love? Or that evil was stronger than good? And if Snow White hadn’t woken, would the Prince be lonely for the rest of his life? Or might he fall in love with another girl?

A girl like me?

You can see where this trail of thought was leading. Even at five years old, I was more interested in the Prince than in the happy ending for Snow White!

As a grown woman who’s been convinced at least twice that I have found my One True Love, the question remains: if you’ve had a great love, found happiness and lost it, what will you risk for a second chance?

In Hearts on Hold, Cate Boyd is alone, escaping the scandal of her husband’s disappearance, and searching for a place where nobody knows her name. The sleepy Maltese village of Xlendi offers privacy, anonymity, and the serene life she craves, far from her former world. But her peace is shattered when monolithic development company Vena announces its plans to level her village, and threatens to expose Cate’s secrets if she stands in its way. 

The arrival of seductive, nosy professor Brandon Blackshaw seems too coincidental for comfort — especially when she discovers that Vena is his research partner. Falling in love again is not part of her plan, especially when it seems she can’t trust Brandon with her heart, let alone her life. As the pressure mounts, Cate must decide which is more important: her hard-won privacy, or the future of her beloved Xlendi.

Emotional, suspenseful and set in paradise, Hearts on Hold is a novel for fans of Nora Roberts and Jayne Ann Krentz. 

If you’d like to read a free chapter of Hearts on Hold, drop in to www.graciemacgregor.com. I hope you enjoy it. And please leave me a comment or drop me an email to let me know what you think!

Giveaway:
You can also win a digital copy of Hearts on Hold. Leave a comment or email for a chance to win!

Gracie Macgregor shares a houseful of chaos with her teenage son and two ridiculous dogs. While her heart belongs to her home-town of Brisbane,  Australia, her mind is frequently elsewhere, biding its time until her travel-itchy feet can catch up. Her idea of bliss is a big romance novel, a cool breeze, and a balcony overlooking Burleigh Beach… unless there’s a chance the balcony can overlook Paris!

Hearts on Hold is Gracie’s first novel, published by Escape Publishing on 1 July 2013.

Twitter: @graciewrites

Giveaway ends 11:59pm EST July 3rd. Please supply your email in the post. You may use spaces or full text for security. (ex. jsmith at gmail dot com) If you do not wish to supply your email, or have trouble posting, please email maureen@justromanticsuspense.com with a subject title of JRS GIVEAWAY to be entered in the current giveaway. *US postal addresses only.

14 comments:

  1. Congratulations on your first novel! I enjoy stories based on second chances at love as they tend to have more emotionally mature characters dealing with realistic issues. Best of luck to you!

    Jonettaallen77 at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks very much, Jonetta. Sometimes I think the scars from love are the things that make us real, to ourselves as well as to the people we love. Enjoy your day!

      Delete
  2. Well your opening lines to the post drew my attention... I love books that tap into my emotions and from what I have seen so far, I think it will do just that... Congrats on your book! Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Colleen. I love books that help me deal with emotions I'm too frightened to acknowledge out loud. Best wishes.

      Delete
  3. I agree with Colleen. The opening line was a winner. I look forward to this and Congratulations!

    Demiro1029@aol.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Many thanks, Dena, I appreciate you visiting. Have a wonderful day.

      Delete
  4. Intriguing premise

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! I hope so. It's a subject dear to my heart...

      Delete
  5. Congrats!! Sounds interesting. thanks for the chance to win. trishleroy49 at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  6. Congrats Gracie on the new release! Sounds awesome! Thanks for sharing :)

    efender1(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow, there's a lot of conflict packed into that story! My heart is aching just reading the blurb. Coincidentally, I just watched Snow White and the Huntsman last night, and the best part of the only okay movie was the twist they gave to the kiss. (Okay, and Chris Hemsworth, but that really goes without saying. :) )

    Congratulations on your debut! I'm off to check out that first chapter. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Natalie, thanks very much! I thought that movie was so beautifully, richly produced, it was a shame it still managed to fail to win me over! But you're right, Chris was some consolation. Happy reading...

      Delete